2021 T20 World Cup Groups Announced

Hosted by the BCCI, but taking place in Oman and the United Arab Emirates from 17 October to 14 November, the 2020 T20 World Cup is just around the corner.

The groups, selected on the basis of team rankings as of 20 March 2021, are as follows:

Group 1:

England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, Winner of Qualification Group A, Runner Up of Qualification Group B

Group 2:

India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Runner Up of Qualification Group A, Winner of Qualification Group B

There are 8 teams vying to fill those group A and group B winner and runner up spots as follows:

Group A:

Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B:

Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman

ICC acting chief Geoff Allardice said the following after the announcement:

"There are some great match ups offered by the groups and it starts to bring the event to life for our fans as our first multi-team event since the onset of the global pandemic draws closer. 

ICC Announces Men's T20 World Cup Groups; India, Pakistan ...
The ICC will be hoping for an exciting tournament after the pandemic we've lived through…

Given the disruption caused by COVID-19, we selected the cutoff date as close as possible to the event to ensure we were able to include the maximum amount of cricket in the rankings which determine the groups. There is no doubt we will witness some highly competitive cricket when the event gets underway in just three months.”

There venues listed for the matches to take place include Dubai International Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground. Further, the tournament schedule will be announced in due course.

What To Look Out For

This promises to be an enthralling world cup by all accounts. 

The most notable match-up will be when India plays Pakistan, with billions of fans sure to watch.

West Indies prevailed in the last tournament in 2016 and cannot be underestimated, but they will face stiff competition from the rest of group 1.

Looking at the qualification groups, one would fancy Sri Lanka, Ireland, Bangladesh and Scotland to go through. But hey, stranger things have happened in cricket.

Keep locked in to jtcricket.com for updates concerning the world cup.


Be the first to comment on this posting!

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.
© 2022 Just The Cricket